Delta State University, College of Business


Delta State University, College of Business

Delta State University has provided course offerings in business since 1925, the year the institution opened for its first regular session. Course offerings were organized along departmental lines in 1928 when a Department of Commerce was formed. The name of the department has changed a number of times, with each change reflecting a broadening scope in offerings and objectives. The Department of Commerce was renamed the Division of Business Education in 1944; changed to the Department of Business in 1948; renamed the Division of Business and Economics in 1958; in 1969, the name was changed to the School of Business; and in 1999, the name was changed to the College of Business.

Degree programs offered in the College include the Bachelor of Business Administration degree with majors in accountancy, computer information systems, finance, general business, insurance and real estate, management, marketing, and office administration; the Bachelor of Science in Education degree with a major in business education for those interested in becoming teachers; and the Bachelor of Commercial Aviation degree with majors in aviation management and flight operations. All degree programs are nationally accredited.


To prepare students for the marketplace by providing challenging educational opportunities.


Service to the community, our profession, and the University is a vital aspect of the College's mission. By nurturing cooperative relationships with business and industry, service organizations, and other institutions, the College will remain dynamic and its activities relevant.



Delta State University
College of Business
Highway 8 West

38733 Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you