The Geology, Petrology and Mineralogy Laboratory, and the Meteorology and Climatology Laboratory are both part of the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics and opened their doors in autumn 1928.

The Geology, Petrology and Mineralogy Laboratory was then divided into the Geology and Paleontology Laboratory, and the Mineralogy and Petrology Laboratory, which were both incorporated into the School of Natural Sciences, founded in autumn 1943. The Meteorology and Climatology Laboratory was first incorporated into the School of Physics and later into the School of Geology.

The School of Natural Sciences trained students in disciplines related to geology and biology. New laboratories were founded over a thirty year period, such as the Physical Geography Laboratory, the Geophysics Laboratory and the Systematic Mineralogy-Petrology Laboratory. In 1973, the School of Natural Sciences was divided into the School of Geology and the School of Biology.

The School of Geology was founded in 1973, pursuant to the Royal Decree 290/5-4-1973, and was staffed by graduates of the School of Natural Sciences. In 1983, the School of Geology was divided into Departments which coordinate teaching and research, offering programmes that train students in a wide variety of disciplines related to their main field of study. The number of courses offered increased even further after new laboratories were founded. The Paleontology Museum and the Mineralogy and Petrology Museum, the Seismological Station and Mount Olympus Meteorological Center are also part of the School of Geology.

The School ensures that students are given full and comprehensive training on a wide range of topics in geosciences, such as Industrial Minerals and Rocks, Geographic Information Systems, Geothermics, Geophysics, Geochemistry, Applied Geology, Sedimentology, Climatology and Meteorology, Ore Deposit Geology, Economic Geology, Fossil Fuels, Mineralogy, Paleomagnetism, Paleontology, Environmental Geology, Environmental Geochemistry, Petrology, Seismology, Stratigraphy, Structural Geology, Technical Geology, Hydrogeology, Physical Geography, Oceanography. Computer courses and courses related to digital technologies are also offered to students. The teaching and research personnel of the School is experienced, highly qualified, and strongly committed to teaching and research.

The School of Geology is among the first ten Schools of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki to attract research funding from a wide range of sources. Over the years, the School of Geology has managed to achieve its goals, offering high-quality education, enhancing research and contributing to community and society in every way possible.

Programmes taught in:
  • English (US)
  • Greek

This school also offers:


Aristotle University of Thessaloniki - School of Geology

This postgraduate course is a two-year, full-time, multidisciplinary course covering a range of earth science, engineering, economics and related subjects, and their appl ... [+]

This course is a two-year, full-time multidisciplinary programme covering a wide range of earth science, engineering and economics subjects applied to hydrocarbon exploration and production. Leads to a Master degree in Hydrocarbon Exploration and Exploitation.

The program enjoys close links with the Hellenic Petroleum Industry, which provides data for use in the courses, presentations to supplement course material and help the students to conduct their internships and their individual research projects with an industry host.

Four Hellenic Universities are involved:

School of Geology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Coordination), School of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering, National Technical University of Athens, Faculty of Geology and Geo-Environment, National & Kapodistrian University of Athens, School of Economics, Democritus University of Thrace. ... [-]
Greece Thessaloniki
Request Info
English (US)
Full time
2 years
Read more in English