Keystone logo
China Pharmaceutical University

China Pharmaceutical University

China Pharmaceutical University


China Pharmaceutical University (CPU) is known for its long history and its leading role in China’s pharmaceutical academia. It is situated in the historical and cultural city of Nanjing, is one of the “211 project” key universities affiliated to the Ministry of Education of China, and listed among the “Double First-Class” universities in China. The University was founded in 1936 as China’s first independent four-year National College of Pharmacy and the first public institution for higher pharmaceutical education in China. Over the 80 years, it has been making important contributions to promote the development of national healthcare, which well represents its motto “Dedicated to academic excellence and devoted to public health.”

The University is composed of two campuses, namely the Xuanwumen Campus and the Jiangning Campus, which cover a total area of about 2100 mu (140 hectares). There are a total of 16 schools and departments, covering 7 disciplines including medicine, science and engineering. There are 31 undergraduate majors, 3 associate (higher vocational) majors, and 3 doctoral research areas (pharmacy, Chinese pharmacy, biology), including 27 doctoral programs and 2 post-doctoral research centers. Currently, CPU hosts more than 16,781 full-time students, including 11,593 bachelor’s or associate degree candidates, 4,682 postgraduates, 505 international students. It has 1,684 faculty and staff including 1,037 full-time teachers.


  • Shanghai

    China Pharmaceutical University Jiangning Campus #639 Longmian Avenue, Jiangning District